Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Hardware

Review of PCV-W10 Desktop by Sony 409

Posted by michael
from the cute-but-overpriced dept.
Anonymous Howard writes "Designtechnica has a review of Sony's Vaio PCV-W10 desktop computer. This computer is unique in the sense that not only is the computer built into the back of the monitor, but the keyboard folds up to cover the screen. Once folded up, this thing becomes a Clock/CD Player. Strange..."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Review of PCV-W10 Desktop by Sony

Comments Filter:
  • I'd prefer a wired keybroad to the "foldable" one...
  • I dunno.. I never turn off my computer... Does anyone else? Why would I need the other parts of this sony viao if I never turn it off?
    • by autopr0n (534291)
      You don't turn it off, you just fold up the keyboard and the screen shows a clock.

      I hope you're not sitting in front of your PC using the keyboard and monitor 24-7...
  • by Anonymous Coward
    Folded another way, it becomes a pocket dictionary with an entry explaining once and for all just what "Vaio" is supposed to mean.
  • by Jason1729 (561790) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @05:46AM (#5257422)
    The Icon 3 computers that were used in Ontario schools in the early 90's had the computer build into the back of the monitor. The whole back inch came off as a module so the computer could be upgraded without replacing the monitor.

    Jason
    ProfQuotes [profquotes.com]
  • by fmaxwell (249001) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @05:49AM (#5257430) Homepage Journal
    I'm happy to see that Sony recognizes that a computer needs to be integrated into a home as a small, practical appliance. I gave my mother a computer and it's housed in a piece of furniture, with doors, that matches the style of her home. As a result of it being out-of-sight, it remains largely out-of-use. Unlike most Slashdot readers, she does not just think to turn the computer on to check e-mail, surf the web, etc. To her, it's a big, complicated device made up of multiple boxes (system unit, keyboard, monitor, modem, printer, mouse) and more wires than she can deal with. I have to wonder if she would use something like the Sony computer featured in the review...
  • If Apple had released this, it would be on the front cover of Time magazine.
  • laptop (Score:3, Insightful)

    by Ashish Kulkarni (454988) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @05:50AM (#5257435) Homepage
    a desktop computer which is present behind the monitor? a keyboard which folds up? that's sounds more like a laptop to me, folks...
    • Looks like one too, to me - I think Sony just found a clever way of marketing a big laptop..

      Q.
      • No, the Sony Vaio commercial with a voiceover by Jeff Goldblum, where Yao Ming has a 12" laptop and Verne Troyer has a 17" laptop... THAT is a clever way of marketing a big laptop.
  • But I'm not too sure on where it is meant to be placed.

    I mean style is one thing, and not too useful in a computer, something you put on a desk out of the way in a corner.

    Why put so much effort into style over the abilities of the machine? I'm sure there is a lot cheaper machine to be built by yourself and you could get more power from it too. Standard LCD and the like. Even a clock screensaver which would do the same job.

    Perhaps if there was a machine with some 'style' as they like to call it, but didn't have the problems associated with it. ie corporate 'lock-in' and then the non expandability. Style is good as an add-on on top of good things already, not a replacement for essential functions.

    style sometimes is just as easy as adding a plexi window.
  • ..but i wouldn't want to work on it
  • It would be kind of cool to have Unix/Linux running on that thing. :) I might use Macs, but I like Visually Freindly Technology..
  • The comp-monitor connection isn't new, but the keyboard folding is interesting. Kinda looks like a desktop for weening people off desktops.

    It's godawful ugly though.
  • Looks slick, but I dont need something that looks nice, I need something that can take abuse and gives me the ablity to upgrade.
  • by fiftyfly (516990)
    wth am I up to reply to this - from the description I'm sure I'll wake up to find that it's all a wierd, pizza indeced dream. OTOH I'm sure there's nothing in my subconcious thAT would prompt a computer/alarm clock
  • screen size? (Score:2, Insightful)

    The article makes no mention of the screen size... are we supposed to assume the W10 means 10"? A 10" 16:9 LCD is just far too small, especially with that price...
  • I like the design of this computer a lot...but I do have a few points to raise. I don't see a network connection...maybe on the other side? I didn't see one either on the picture of the i/o ports or in the text of the article...I suppose you could use one of your PC card slots, but I think that it would be nice to include that function out of the box.

    I don't know how many people would want to use their computer as a desk clock, especially if you have to be listening to music at the same time...it seems a bit redundant, especially when you can buy a clock for $4-5.

    When I first saw the picture, the first thing that came to my mind was of the machine mounted from the bottom of some cabinetry in my kitchen...how cool would that be? Small unit right there in the kitchen, small folddown keyboard...

    I think maybe I should get some sleep.

  • Hmmmm... (Score:2, Funny)

    by mikeophile (647318)
    I'd hate to hit the snooze button and crash the server.
  • This looks pretty good for people in need of a simple computer running windows. I remember reading however that sony used analog interconnects for the display instead of digital like the iMac. The price is pretty competitive, and it seems like they could tap into a pretty large market. "I need windows... video card whats a video card."
  • Something that would be useful on vacations and business trips. If I had any money, I'd probably get one.
  • When did they start making CD's with clocks in them? Is it perhaps the next devious RIAA plot to get DRM into our households?
  • by thinmac (98095) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @06:03AM (#5257475) Homepage
    Have you seen one of these in a store? Have you seen the price? It's got the specs of a $500 emachine, with the exception of the folding keyboard and the big LCD screen (which, granted, looks really pretty). The form factor is cute, but not really a whole lot *better* than a whole lot of other stuff on the market. When you figure it costs $1000 more than a similarly decked out budget machine, it doesn't look to me like it panns out.

    Now, this post is doubless going to attract some Apple iMac comparisons, but I think it won't apply. Why? Because I think with an iMac (which starts at around $200 less), you're getting a design that actually works better than the $500 emachine, not just that looks better. Just my opinion, though. I'm sure folks will disagree...
  • The Sony VIAO W-10 sells for $1599 while the 15inch iMac will run you $1299 while the Gateway Profile 4s Plus sets you back $1209.

    This desktop certainly looks unique, but the price is still pretty steep. Believe it or not, a difference of only $300 made my decision when I bought my last computer. That's $300 cheaper I have to sell it for on Ebay to help recoup my cost to get my next computer ;-).

    --naked [slashdot.org]

  • Cool design, but I would not want to buy a new screen and a new keyboard each time I change my hardware.
    Also, I like to be able to change the position of my keyboard when I change my position on my chair. If it's not possible to detach the keyboard from the screen, it's not even an option for me.

    JB.
  • hmm (Score:5, Funny)

    by nomadic (141991) <nomadicworld@gma ... minus herbivore> on Saturday February 08, 2003 @06:12AM (#5257505) Homepage
    So this is meant for people who are ashamed to own a computer?

    Oh, wait, this is good. An actual quote from the review:

    What I don't want to see happening is Sony start skimping on performance and overcharging the consumer all for the sake of selling a Lifestyle.

    So who wants to break the news to him?
  • Spiffy.
  • My first thoughts were "Hideous" but it grew on me as I read the article. I was surprised that he felt it underperformed the 15" iMac, which has the 800MHz G4, so I have to guess there are some shoddy components around the motherboard area. Still, if deskspace were at a premium I'd definitely be tempted and I know several people who'll drool at this model.
  • This is what Apple should have done with the iMac instead of concentrating on anglepoise lamp emulation.

    It was switching from an iBook to a Sony Vaio C1VN, that made me realise that Sony really does rival Apple when it comes to kick-ass products, BUT, though this machine has Apple-cool about it, it also has Apple-low-spec.

    I'm looking for a new desktop computer, since I don't have a single complete PC, but I want something I can stick a fast graphics card in to play C&C Generals. I just don't see this Vaio as being powerful enough for that.

    But an excellent bedroom computer at any rate.
  • If the RIAA gets it way, Genuine CDs will become extinct.
  • Nice, but it's kind of hard to surf with my head on my pillow.
  • by MrFenty (579353) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @06:19AM (#5257529)
    ...where they have insanely high real estate prices, then you'll realise why everything has to be fold up and space efficient. Also looks pretty neat.
  • I mean, at $1599 you have certain expectations :-)
  • Smaller doesn't necessarily equal better. Sure it takes up very little space on your desk, but for the power user, what does this really offer? Come to think of it, all it really looks like is a repackaged laptop in a "desktop form factor", if you can call it that.

    I get going for style and all, but I think you really have to offer something more than just style if you are putting a $1500 pricetag on a 1.6 GHz computer (and a clock/CD player ISN'T it). Hell, they even say it, for $300 less, you get a better Gateway computer that is basically the same thing.

    Oh yea, BTW - for those of you ACs keeping score - FP.

    RonB
  • When the keyboard is folded over, the unit looks like it was cobbled together out of spare sony vaio parts.particularly when viewed from the side.


    Also, with the keyboard folded up like that, if you left the unit alone for a few days in disuse, wouldn't the top half of the screen get dusty leaving the lower half of the screen clean?
    That would really get annoying over time.


    It's a really cool idea, very innovative I've never seen anything like it, and it has a little bit of Apple style "lust factor" attached to it and I'm sure Sony will sell a lot of them but I'd rather have a Sony Vaio laptop.Running Linux of course.

  • ...if the RIAA has it's way CDs will become extinct. It does have a reasonably stylish look to it however. ..k
  • PDP-10 (Score:4, Funny)

    by slavemowgli (585321) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @06:35AM (#5257562) Homepage
    You know, when I saw that headline, I immediately read "Review of PDP-10 desktop by Sony". Imagine my surprise... ;)

  • So does this mean that i386 compatible computers will continue to evolve into disposable consumer electronics rather than the upgradable systems based on standard, interchangeable components that we've become accustomed to?
  • Who would like to use it as a clock radio? It seems like the least desirable feature ever.
  • I can't really see how this is different from a grossly fat notebook. The main convenience factor is the thinness of the keyboard, but this is being typed on a normal thin notebook computer and the keyboard is not higher off the desk than standard.

    In fact, the Compaq Tablet PC is basically a standard notebook the wrong way round - the motherboard is on the screen bit, the keyboard is the thin part. This is such a logical change I'm amazed it never happened before. All that is needed is a foldout backrest and you have a similar layout to this Vaio.

    If it's going to be really significantly cheaper than a new Powerbook or Tablet, there might be some space saving advantages, but an attached keyboard will never be as convenient as a detachable one. So what precisely is the real advantage of this thing?

    It reminds me of the Sony PDA with its idiot keyboard, orientation all wrong, keys too small, not actually any faster or more convenient than Graffiti. Form over function.

  • Sony had this wonder in their booth at CeBit [cebit.de] 2002 almost a year ago (CeBit 2003 is a month away, can't wait!). It was one of the more interesting and unique products at the messe in my opinion, and that's saying a lot, seeing as it competed with the many thousands of gadgets at this 'Worlds largest trade show for information and telecommunications technology'. This is something I'd have in my livingroom. It looks good, has most the functionality of a computer, and a tv with DVD support. Tire of all that and fold up the keyboard - bam - a Stereo. For times when you need to enjoy the silence, it will atleast serve you as a clock. As Apple would put it, 'The center of your digital lifestyle'. We'll see more products like this in the future, I'm sure. When the youth of today (I'm included here) gets their first own apartment, why would they buy a TV, stereo, DVD player, and computer - when they can buy something like this? It does not perfectly replace any one of the abovementioned, but it's an excellent merge that in the end will be easier on the wallet, and a whole lot of cooler. / V
  • to make an 80 Watt clock/radio.
  • Dilbert in his mind..."why can't I have a neat checkbook on steroids?"

    Thus was born the Super Checkbook...complete with wall plugin and wireless connectivity!

    Dilbert says to himself again..."I don't even need to walk up to the counter to pay anymore! I can just beam my check over!"
  • Not to the point (Score:2, Interesting)

    by OpenSourced (323149)
    I think the review is not to the point. The real point with such a design would be to speculate about the end public. Instead, he blabbers about video editing and FPS. I don't really think that the prospective buyer of this machine is being worried about Teraflops. He (or, rather more possibly she) is probably more interested in having an all-in-one machine that will a) be cute b) allow to check the mail from bed c) match the room wallpaper d) play music e) be a conversation piece f) once a month, work as a real PC.


    Instead of concentrating on these things, we get a meningless comparative, as if it was a normal desktop. Better review at hardware central [earthweb.com] (IMHO).

  • review in a phrase.
  • It's a laptop that doesn't move.
  • Interesting unit. The article author has made the specs a little bit difficult to find. 15.3" widescreen (1280 x 768) Celeron 1.6 - 512megs DDR - 60GB HD And in typical Sony VAIO Style, a tragically underpowerd graphics chip. (SIS650) All for an MSRP of 1599 US Clams It's sexy in a geeky breakfast table kind of way but not worth the cost of admission.
  • The 15" iMac is $300 cheaper than this Vaio and better in virtually every way: G4 vs Celero, nVidia Geforce2 32 MB VRAM vs integrated graphics with no VRAM, space age design vs typewriter style, best-of-bread software(iTunes, iMovie, iPhoto, iDVD, iChat, iSync, iCal, etc) vs third rate imitations (by the way, MS iWave http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/wlg/2743 is coming to a PC near you), Mac OS X vs XP Home, dozens of bundled programming tools vs zero, ... And for $200 more, the 17" iMac also offer DVD burning Superdrive, 54 Mbps 802.11g AirPort Extreme, Bluetooth ready. So let the hell freeze over before I touch the Vaio. Oh, where are those idiots who always complain that home made PCs are much cheaper than Macs, and shouldn't the same old argument apply to Sony and other Wintel box makers?
  • this is what the "pc" industry is coming to. cutesy designs and gimicks. sure it looks nice. but really. not that it isn't interesting, but this is hardly "innovation". i'm not bashing sony here, just saying that this is sort of like apple's early imacs in that they had "ooh, all those colors". this seems like a cheap way to drum up sales.
    BR though, imagine a beowulf cluster of these.
  • bfd (Score:1, Redundant)

    by b17bmbr (608864)
    so this is what the pc industry has come to. cutesy designs to drum up sales. interesting, yes. innovation, hardly. like the imacs that were all those colors. though first to integrate 10base-T, firewire, usb, etc., that was cool. the pc has reached an evolutionary peak. where can it go from here. faster, a bit. but at what price? wattage, heat, noise, etc. and for what. so this is all they have left.

    (imagine a beowulf cluster of these though...)
  • Besides the obvious distraction of grammatic errors is a bit of uncertainty of how to treat this computer, for the purposes of review.

    It looks a bit like a little boombox, and has special clock features when it's folded up. Obviously, the designers expect that it will be stay folded up a lot, to design this so intentionally. Overall, it seems geared towards someone who needs a small-footprint PC with moderate functionality, like someone in a crowded dorm room or apartment. With this in mind, the interface to simple tasks for which most of the intended market segment would use this key, not the technical capabilities, and I suspect that Apple still comes out on top. Because of this, I would have welcomed a more in-depth discussion of the VAIO's interface, and the relative merits of the included software bundle versus those of the competitors' comparable units, but I got the impression that the reviewer hadn't really spent much time with the other systems.

    It's not a power system to those of us with the latest hardware, and it also appears not to be terribly rugged, but it is cute, and definitely more manageable by people who are not nerds and just need to do email or homework, or maybe watch a movie in bed. There's no question that this is not a real workhorse of a machine, and doesn't have all the necessary ports, so I'm not sure why HTPC was discussed. But as a primary system with only moderate usage, or a satellite system for a house network, it probably does quite well.
  • But I wonder how much of a pain it will be to upgrade later on?
  • Hmm... I still think we should be hiding the home computing (a la 'Trek), not turn them into clocks =).

    Still it's on the right way. Call me when the whole thing is turned into a picture frame [mini-itx.com]
  • by JonathanF (532591) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @07:42AM (#5257681)
    From what I've seen (in this review and elsewhere), the Vaio W just fits into a horribly awkward spot in the market that will only suit a few people. If you just need a compact all-in-one computer, then Apple and Gateway undercut the price by a few hundred. Both Apple and Gateway also have AIO units that will be considerably better for both DVDs and some light gaming (especially with the 17" iMac's GeForce 4 MX).

    The W is only for people who REALLY need to save space, or else appreciate the features of the keyboard-up clock and CD player.
    • ...for people who have "Windows OS" as their #1 requirement.

      If nothing else, Sony makes attractive consumer devices. This fits into that same niche nicely. I know a fair amount of people who will buy virtually anything Sony makes simply because they love Sony design.

      So this computer is for those people who like Sony stuff, and would never consider a Mac.

      Maybe that's enough niche to make a product...hard to tell.

      • The problem is that this computer is being advertised as an entity unto its own - as an appliance that happens to be a computer. If having Windows was more important than the feature set, then the Profile 4 would be a better deal. For $1499 you get a much faster system and a higher-resolution display.
  • ...adjust my set? I don't see any comments, here... Maybe it's some kind of caching problem. The last time a news post was made impossible to comment, I seem to recall it being posted by michael as well. But I guess time it's just the entire /. audience being fed up with Sony, or something. Also, that time, there simply was no "Reply"-button, but I saw one now, and even clicked it, too... Weird. Cool machine though, but I wonder what resolution the reviewer is used to, if 1280x768 feels like getting more space.
  • "This computer is unique in the sense that not only is the computer built into the back of the monitor[...]"

    Didn't the iMac do this?
    • Anyone remember the Monorail (and spare me the Simpsons jokes)?

      Most people believe the "plateau-ing" of consumer demands for computer power will lead to further commoditization of PCs, and thus lower profits for OEMs. It is possible, however, that a few select players -- Apple (of course) and potentially Sony -- will be able to leverage the lack of a need for horse-power type progress to be able to realize premiums for non-technical style points. Not for me, or probably you, but a stylish, unobtrusive computer could be worth the extra few $100 when one is trying to integrate computing into a family room setting where the furniture and other consumer electronics cost thousands of dollars.
  • by Nastard (124180)
    I just posted a comment, but it doesn't seem to be showing up. Did I break something?
  • Is for it to make toast. Of course, depending on the heat management, it may well make toast if you leave it on, put a piece of bread in, and fold up the keyboard.
  • by Salsaman (141471) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @08:10AM (#5257742) Homepage
    Once folded up, this thing becomes a Clock/CD Player. Strange...

    Remember though, Sony is originally a Japanese company. I predict their next model will fold up into a giant walking robot with rocket launchers for arms.

  • The most important thing about an extra-priced all in one PC that looks cool is wether or not it is usable. What's with the keyboard? Sleek lookin'but what's with ergonomy? It folds nicely but can I type on it? The people at desingtechnica do know how to type, no? What's with the cinema screen? Is the whole thing nosy? That's a big bulk on the backside. Are there heatvents that have to be kept free? How much space does it actually use? It doesn't look like it fits into a corner easyly.Does it catch dust where I can't clean it properly? (That's important for a comp like *this*!)...And on and on and on....
    All they're going into is Processing power. I do *not* by a box like this if im into the power game or if I want to run Unreal 2 in 1280 res. with all those grafics sliders pushed to the far right. In fact, *if* I buy a box like this I don't give a single shit 'bout those extra 5% of numbercrunching! I buy a box like this because it looks freakin' cool *and* is useable and doesn't waste space. Expecially people at a site that's called 'designtechnica' ought to know that !
    Bottom line:
    The prime example of a real crappy review. Not even worth the bit that came across from their server! I want my 10 minutes back...
  • Particularly their unique small portable PC's; it seems as if they were primarily designed for form-factor and looks, and then tech specs match a target price point.

    But, maybe, just maybe, we're looking at this machine as geeks instead of as a typical consumer (something that I think Sony really understands).

    I have to admit, while the specs of the machine are disappointing, its just cool enough that I could be talked into it.
  • Judging by the lack of response, it would seem that not many geeks want a $1599 CD player/clock.
  • Or perhaps /. is messed up and not showing me the responses. Yes, that seems more likely. Every geek wants a $1599 CD player/clock.
  • It looks good.

    But I value raw power more than looks, which is why my next computer will be an ugly beige tower with an AMD Athlon 2000+ under the hood.

    Besides, if someone wants convenience and a "small"-ish computer, they are probably better off buying a laptop...
  • From the article:
    If you did not know, VIAO stands for Video Audio Integrated Operation. If you buy one of these it will become ingrained in your brain, for it is emblazoned on the left side of the LCD display

    Obviously it wasn't ingrained on the reviewers brain, otherwise he'd have known it's "VAIO"...


  • Imagine it with Linux...

  • by MCMLXXVI (601095)
    I see Sony is buying ad space on here now.
  • My uncle had a Compaq "Portable", back in the day. It was the size of a suitcase, and the full size keyboard folded up over the 6 inch monitor and floppy drives. I believe he still has it somewhere.

    Oh, and just last week the test engineer at work was watching an automotive crash test video on an indutrial pc - think mini tower with lcd screen on the side and keyboard integrated into the cover.

    Hardly unique!
  • What the hell is going on with my beloved slashdot tonight? It's gone all wonky. Is there some gobeldygook in the gildenfranz or something? Do they need to reroute the matter stream around the Heisenberg compensators? Damn it! I need answers! Why is slashdot all wonkified? Who is responsible for this wonkification? When will this wonkiness end? I'm not sure I want to live in a world where slashdot behaves wonkily.
  • Me neither, I just stopped at the pictures.
  • and the review is obnoxious and tedious to read. Other articles on the site seem at least equally lacking in quality. They read little better than press releases. The "Plain English Guide to [Installing Your Home Theater]" is particularly noxious. Although informative to a degree, the associated comments are sexist, judgmental, and often poorly thought out.
  • This thing looks cool as heck! However, I could never buy a computer that doesn't have a decent graphics card.

    If Sony put a Geforce 4 or Radeon 9700 in this thing, I'd probably buy one.
  • With the keyboard firmly attached to the monitor, doesn't that create a bit of an ergonomic limitation? If it's not right for you by default, you're screwed. Not only do you have to use it in their position in relationship to the monitor, use of an external would be made difficult by the other getting in the way (unless it was hacked off).

    Kudos on having a binary clock, though.
  • vaiouch! (Score:5, Informative)

    by rnd() (118781) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @10:49AM (#5258431) Homepage
    I had a vaio laptop a few years ago (pentium iii 450 version) and there were a few things about it that made me decide to avoid vaio products in the future:

    1. Proprietary drivers: Since I already owned a copy of Win2k from my last machine, I ordered the Vaio with 98 and planned to upgrade. No such luck. Sony wouldn't give me access to the drivers. I finally found someone who had the drivers but there was some kind of BIOS lock-out preventing me from installing them. It would have been worthwhile to pay the stupid $150 extra for the win2k machine in the first place.

    2. Proprietary Drivers: Sony finally did release the drivers w/o the bios lockout, but it was about a year after I first got the laptop.

    3. SLOW! The thing was designed to look nice rather than to perform. It had one of the slowest laptop hard drives I've ever experienced.

    VAIO systems appear to be designed to look nice (which they do). They're not really performance machines, and Sony has some funny policies regarding releasing drivers, etc. Buyer beware.
    • VAIO systems appear to be designed to look nice (which they do). They're not really performance machines, and Sony has some funny policies regarding releasing drivers, etc. Buyer beware.

      I have a 2 month old Vaio desktop and have upgraded it left and right, using a vanilla XP install with no issues. The hardware is all standard, and it runs great. Just put a GF4 in it last night, 5 minute install.

      There is a huge difference between Vaio desktop and laptop lines.
      • There is also a huge difference between a desktop system (in a minitower) and one of these all-in-one integrated jobs. I'll bet you a shiny quarter that the device reviewed uses either a laptop motherboard, or something quite similar.

        So the grandparent's post may well be topical.
    • My wife has an older Vaio desktop running Win98. I will probably inherit it when she upgrades (she uses it for telecommuting and it's getting a bit slow). I figured I'd install Linux on it. But a friend at work who owns the same model told me that he had tried to install Linux and Win2K on his with no joy. He says the bios doesn't support either (probably just no drivers available).

      Also, I've noticed that every Viao model I've looked at has limited memory capacity. My wife's maxes out at 256mb, and I recently looked at a new Viao laptop that was limited to 512mb.

      I think I'll be avoiding Sony PCs in the future.
  • A toy robot that, when folded up, becomes a plane or car. Strange...

  • by nut (19435) on Saturday February 08, 2003 @11:44AM (#5258701) Homepage
    I bought a Sony VAIO PCG-C1VE (PCG-C1VN in the states) a couple of years ago, and I would now advise people never to get a PC with a 16x9 form factor screen.
    The screen is only 8 inches so the only really useable resolution is 1024x480. An awful lot of applications don't fit on this from top to bottom, and using a text editor, IDE or even surfing the web is very frustrating because you can view so few lines of text at a time. (Very painful if you're trying to write code!)
    Having to continually right click on the taskbar and use the keyboard to move windows up to get at the buttons at the bottom of some app (because your mouse stops at the top of the screen) will very quickly drive you mad.
    If you're going to extend the screen on a workstation you probably want to make it taller, not wider.
    If the screen was big enough to use at about 1280x768 it might not be so bad. But I still wouldn't consider wide-screen an advantage for anything but watching movies.
    I believe it's a 15 inch screen, so I'm really not sure how good it would be.
    • Re: apps suck too (Score:3, Interesting)

      by TeknoHog (164938)
      For almost everything except graphics work, I'd prefer a screen which is larger in the vertical direction. Reading text can be really fast when the window is quite narrow, then you can see one line at a time and just "scroll down" with your eyes. The higher the screen, the better.

      For some reason it seems that every time a bigger resolution screen comes out, new applications are released with higher toolbars, keeping the usable vertical workspace constant. Of course I try and minimize the problem, using a windowmanager without any taskbars etc, but there's still work for application designers.

      Then again, it might be that for most people the computer is a glorified game console and movie player, so a 16x9 screen makes sense. For the rest of us who actually work with computers, it's a lot different.

    • I don't know if I agree. Apple got the widescreen thing down pretty well: in OS X, it is very much easier to use the system with the widescreen aspect ratio.
  • <HARHAR>
    OH NO! It doesn't have a floppy drive!
    </HARHAR>
  • While mildly interesting, I can't help but think that the attached keyboard would be a disaster. Seriously, can any of you imagine using a keyboard that was bolted to the bottom of your monitor?

    I think the last time I used something like that, it was called a Commodore PET.

    • can any of you imagine using a keyboard that was bolted to the bottom of your monitor?

      Actually, yes, I use one every time I turn on my laptop, and it works out just fine. The only drawback, here, is that this thing wouldn't sit comfortably on your lap, but a laptop is still perfectly usable on a table.
      • Actually, yes, I use one every time I turn on my laptop

        Heh, yes, okay... you're right... although that is obviously a trade-off for the sake of portability. It also helps that the laptop is below you, so to speak (the W looks raised above where a laptop screen would normally begin).

        I guess my point was that it doesn't seem to serve a purpose. They could have still had a fold-up keyboard that detached.

  • What I don't want to see happening is Sony start skimping on performance and overcharging the consumer all for the sake of selling a Lifestyle.

    Summation: Sony, stop copying Apple!

  • ... than a Playstation 2. That's about it. Sorry, but this "tower in the back of the monitor" design isn't really all that brilliant.
  • I feel sad whenever I see Sony products like this. They are such a powerhouse when it comes to visually beautiful, yet powerful devices. They could easily be raking in profits off of their electronics division if it weren't for their commitment to sacrifice electronic quality to protect their media division. Sad, sad, sad...
  • Has anyone else noticed that the hardware industry is slowly drifting back to designs from 1985? This thing is identical to a lightweight luggable computer, just without a handle on it.

    Personally, I think this i a great thing. Most people who own laptops never take them out of the house, they just like the convenience of setting it up in any room, and stashing it out of sight, when not in use. The main reason I have on, is to take it back and forth between work and home (and client sites), but I always plug it in when I use it. The only time I use the battery, is to take it from room to room.

    Why can't they bring back true luggable systems? The advantage of these, over a laptop, would be a larger size would allow for non-proprietary components. The new small form-factor motherboards make a system like this completely practical. Does anyone know of a company selling cases like this? Basically something relatively small & light, with an lcd and keyboard mounted on the unit.

FORTH IF HONK THEN

Working...