Forgot your password?

Slashdot Items Tagged "internet"

Date / TimeStory
Sunday November 23, 2014 @12:14PM Blame America For Everything You Hate About "Internet Culture"
Friday November 21, 2014 @10:45PM Indian Brick-and-Mortar Retailers Snub Android One Phones
Friday November 21, 2014 @06:48PM Brick & mortar retail stores in India refuse to sell Android One phones
Wednesday November 19, 2014 @04:59PM The Software Big Oil's PR Firm Uses To "Convert Average Citizens"
Wednesday November 19, 2014 @01:14PM Nielsen Will Start Tracking Netflix and Amazon Video
Monday November 17, 2014 @06:15PM Can the US Actually Cultivate Local Competition in Broadband?
Monday November 17, 2014 @12:53PM What the US Can Learn From Canada's Internet Policy
Monday November 17, 2014 @11:12AM Military Laser/Radio Tech Proposed As Alternative To Laying Costly Fiber Cable
Friday November 14, 2014 @10:04PM Comcast Kisses-Up To Obama, Publicly Agrees On Net Neutrality
Friday November 14, 2014 @06:42PM FCC Says Net Neutrality Decision Delay Is About Courts, Not Politics
Friday November 14, 2014 @02:37PM Cameron Says People Radicalized By Free Speech; UK ISPs Agree To Censor Button
Friday November 14, 2014 @08:14AM Education Chief Should Know About PLATO and the History of Online CS Education
Friday November 14, 2014 @07:50AM Sony To Take On Netflix With Playstation Vue
Thursday November 13, 2014 @02:09PM No, You Can't Seize Country TLDs, US Court Rules
Thursday November 13, 2014 @11:54AM Ask Slashdot: How To Unblock Email From My Comcast-Hosted Server?
Thursday November 13, 2014 @08:36AM Overbilled Customer Sues Time Warner Cable For False Advertising
Wednesday November 12, 2014 @04:50PM AT&T To "Pause" Gigabit Internet Rollout Until Net Neutrality Is Settled
Wednesday November 12, 2014 @01:01PM How Baidu Tracked the Largest Seasonal Migration of People On Earth
Monday November 10, 2014 @01:02PM Canadian Police Recommend Ending Anonymity On the Internet
Monday November 10, 2014 @11:18AM President Obama Backs Regulation of Broadband As a Utility
Monday November 10, 2014 @09:50AM Mozilla Launches Browser Built For Developers
Sunday November 09, 2014 @05:41PM How Alibaba Turned November 11 Into the World's Biggest Online Shopping Day
Friday November 07, 2014 @06:47PM More Tor .Onion Sites May Get Digital Certificates Soon
Thursday November 06, 2014 @08:04PM Aereo Shutting Down Boston Office
Thursday November 06, 2014 @07:43PM Bounties vs. Extreme Internet Harassment
Wednesday November 05, 2014 @04:10PM LibraryBox is an Open Source Server That Runs on Low-Cost Hardware (Video)
Wednesday November 05, 2014 @03:22PM Meet the 36 People Who Run Wikipedia
Wednesday November 05, 2014 @02:27PM Net Neutrality Alone Won't Solve ISP Throttling Abuse, Here's Why
Monday November 03, 2014 @06:43PM Mozilla Teases First Browser Dedicated To Devs
Sunday November 02, 2014 @07:06PM Pianist Asks Washington Post To Remove Review Under "Right To Be Forgotten"
Sunday November 02, 2014 @08:33AM Real Net Neutrality Problem: 'Edge Provider' vs 'End User'
Saturday November 01, 2014 @01:18PM Free Broadband For NYC Public Housing?
Thursday October 30, 2014 @08:20PM Swedish Regulator Orders Last "Hold-Out" ISP To Retain Customer Data
Thursday October 30, 2014 @01:21PM First Detailed Data Analysis Shows Exactly How Comcast Jammed Netflix
Thursday October 30, 2014 @08:47AM Cutting the Cord? Time Warner Loses 184,000 TV Subscribers In One Quarter
Wednesday October 29, 2014 @02:23PM Power and Free Broadband To the People
Tuesday October 28, 2014 @12:28PM Ask Slashdot: Unlimited Data Plan For Seniors?
Tuesday October 28, 2014 @09:29AM It's Official: HTML5 Is a W3C Standard
Monday October 27, 2014 @02:28PM 20 More Cities Want To Join the Fight Against Big Telecom's Broadband Monopolies
Monday October 27, 2014 @12:14PM EU Court Rules Embedding YouTube Videos Is Not Copyright Infringement
Sunday October 26, 2014 @07:13PM US Army May Relax Physical Requirements To Recruit Cyber Warriors
Wednesday October 22, 2014 @04:40PM Will Fiber-To-the-Home Create a New Digital Divide?
Wednesday October 22, 2014 @04:24PM The Inevitable Death of the Internet Troll
Sunday October 19, 2014 @06:13PM In UK, Internet Trolls Could Face Two Years In Jail
Sunday October 19, 2014 @10:47AM Ask Slashdot: Good Hosting Service For a Parody Site?
Sunday October 19, 2014 @01:55AM BBC Takes a Stand For the Public's Right To Remember Redacted Links
Thursday October 16, 2014 @05:06PM Google Fiber To Launch In Austin, Texas In December
Thursday October 16, 2014 @06:49AM Worcester Mass. City Council Votes To Keep Comcast From Entering the Area
Wednesday October 15, 2014 @03:55PM Commerce Secretary: US Wants Multi-Stakeholder Process To Preserve Internet
Wednesday October 15, 2014 @03:34PM HBO To Offer Online Streaming Without TV Subscription
Monday October 13, 2014 @09:11AM The Correct Response To Photo Hack Victim-Blamers
Saturday October 11, 2014 @03:08PM How Spurious Wikipedia Edits Can Attach a Name To a Scandal, 35 Years On
Wednesday October 08, 2014 @09:49PM Eric Schmidt: Anxiety Over US Spying Will "Break the Internet"
Wednesday October 08, 2014 @04:26PM Ask Slashdot: How Would You Build a Home Network To Fully Utilize Google Fiber?
Tuesday October 07, 2014 @11:12AM Complain About Comcast, Get Fired From Your Job
Sunday October 05, 2014 @05:21PM Why the FCC Will Probably Ignore the Public On Network Neutrality
Thursday October 02, 2014 @08:22PM Conservative Groups Accuse FCC of Helping Net Neutrality Advocates File Comments
Thursday October 02, 2014 @03:51PM User Error Is the Primary Weak Point In Tor
Wednesday October 01, 2014 @05:31PM Verizon Wireless Caves To FCC Pressure, Says It Won't Throttle 4G Users
Tuesday September 30, 2014 @11:56AM Web Magna Carta: WWW Inventor Calls For 'Online Bill of Rights'
Sunday September 28, 2014 @06:23PM Piracy Police Chief Calls For State Interference To Stop Internet "Anarchy"
Sunday September 28, 2014 @04:55PM FCC To Rule On "Paid Prioritization" Deals By Internet Service Providers
Sunday September 28, 2014 @02:09PM World's Smallest 3G Module Will Connect Everything To the Internet
Thursday September 25, 2014 @06:15PM BT and Coke To Offer Free Rural Wi-Fi In South Africa Through Vending Machines
Thursday September 25, 2014 @08:38AM Facebook To Start Testing Internet-Beaming Drones In 2015
Thursday September 25, 2014 @01:23AM The MOOC Revolution That Wasn't
Thursday September 25, 2014 @01:22AM Verizon Working On a La Carte Internet TV Service
Thursday September 25, 2014 @01:22AM Google Hangouts Gets Google Voice Integration And Free VoIP Calls
Thursday September 25, 2014 @01:11AM Shadowy Tech Brokers Deliver Data To the NSA
Wednesday September 24, 2014 @10:03PM Anonymous Peer-review Comments May Spark Legal Battle
Wednesday September 24, 2014 @05:41PM Australian Senate Introduces Laws To Allow Total Internet Surveillance
Tuesday September 23, 2014 @09:25AM Netflix Rejects Canadian Regulator Jurisdiction Over Online Video
Monday September 22, 2014 @05:05PM The Raid-Proof Hosting Technology Behind 'The Pirate Bay'
Monday September 22, 2014 @11:03AM SkyOrbiter UAVs Could Fly For Years and Provide Global Internet Access
Monday September 22, 2014 @07:51AM Nobody's Neutral In Net Neutrality Debate
Wednesday September 17, 2014 @09:29PM FCC Chairman: Americans Shouldn't Subsidize Internet Service Under 10Mbps
Tuesday September 16, 2014 @08:16AM Treasure Map: NSA, GCHQ Work On Real-Time "Google Earth" Internet Observation
Monday September 15, 2014 @01:38PM Comcast Allegedly Asking Customers to Stop Using Tor
Sunday September 14, 2014 @07:59PM New Details About NSA's Exhaustive Search of Edward Snowden's Emails
Sunday September 14, 2014 @02:56PM diaspora* version 0.4.1.0 released
Sunday September 14, 2014 @02:00PM Navy Guilty of Illegally Broad Online Searches: Child Porn Conviction Overturned
Friday September 12, 2014 @10:46AM German Court: Google Must Stop Ignoring Customer E-mails
Friday September 12, 2014 @08:24AM L.A. TV Stations Free Up Some Spectrum For Wireless Broadband
Thursday September 11, 2014 @06:40PM U.S. Threatened Massive Fine To Force Yahoo To Release Data
Thursday September 11, 2014 @03:20PM Net Neutrality Comments Surge Past 1.7M, an All-Time Record For the FCC
Wednesday September 10, 2014 @01:32PM California Tells Businesses: Stop Trying To Ban Consumer Reviews
Monday September 08, 2014 @03:41PM Ontario Government Wants To Regulate the Internet
Monday September 08, 2014 @03:28PM AT&T Says 10Mbps Is Too Fast For "Broadband," 4Mbps Is Enough
Saturday September 06, 2014 @03:22PM "Net Neutrality" Coiner Tim Wu Is Running For Lt. Governor of New York
Friday September 05, 2014 @06:49AM UCLA, CIsco & More Launch Consortium To Replace TCP/IP
Thursday September 04, 2014 @03:58PM Buenos Aires Issues a 'Netflix Tax' For All Digital Entertainment
Thursday September 04, 2014 @12:30PM FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler Says Switching ISPs Is Too Hard
Tuesday September 02, 2014 @08:48AM Interview: Ask Christopher "moot" Poole About 4chan and Social Media
Monday September 01, 2014 @04:30PM Net Neutrality Campaign To Show What the Web Would Be Like With a "Slow Lane"
Monday September 01, 2014 @04:27PM Raspberry Pi Gets a Brand New Browser
Monday September 01, 2014 @11:38AM Grand Ayatollah Says High Speed Internet Is "Against Moral Standards"
Wednesday August 27, 2014 @10:34PM Indiana University Researchers Get $1 Million Grant To Study Memes
Wednesday August 27, 2014 @07:46PM African States Aim To Improve Internet Interconnections
Wednesday August 27, 2014 @03:04PM Ask Slashdot: What To Do About Repeated Internet Overbilling?
Wednesday August 27, 2014 @07:52AM Time Warner Cable Experiences Nationwide Internet Outage
Tuesday August 26, 2014 @06:32PM Comcast Tells Government That Its Data Caps Aren't Actually "Data Caps"
Monday August 25, 2014 @07:30PM Net Neutrality Is 'Marxist,' According To a Koch-Backed Astroturf Group
Saturday August 23, 2014 @12:07AM Securing Networks In the Internet of Things Era
Friday August 22, 2014 @04:13PM Illinois University Restricts Access To Social Media, Online Political Content
Thursday August 21, 2014 @04:55PM FCC Warned Not To Take Actions a Republican-Led FCC Would Dislike
Monday August 18, 2014 @11:06AM Plan Would Give Government Virtual Veto Over Internet Governance
Monday August 18, 2014 @06:42AM Ask Slashdot: Would You Pay For Websites Without Trolls?
Sunday August 17, 2014 @06:18PM ICANN Offers Fix For Domain Name Collisions
Saturday August 16, 2014 @07:07AM Leaked Documents: GCHQ Made Port-Scanning Entire Countries a Standard Spy Tool
Thursday August 14, 2014 @10:18PM Web Trolls Winning as Incivility Increases
Thursday August 14, 2014 @09:47PM DARPA Contemplates Vast Ocean Network
Thursday August 14, 2014 @06:35PM The Man Responsible For Pop-Up Ads On Building a Better Web
Monday August 11, 2014 @12:01PM Google Is Backing a New $300 Million High-Speed Internet Trans-Pacific Cable
Saturday August 09, 2014 @12:56PM For Fast Internet in the US, Virginia Tops the Charts
Thursday August 07, 2014 @10:56AM Google Will Give a Search Edge To Websites That Use Encryption
Wednesday August 06, 2014 @12:31PM Facebook Seeks Devs To Make Linux Network Stack As Good As FreeBSD's
Tuesday August 05, 2014 @12:10PM Ushahidi Helps Track Everything From Election Violence to Oil Spills (Video)
Monday August 04, 2014 @02:35PM Comcast Gives 6 Months Free Internet To Poor and Unpaid Bill Amnesty
Monday August 04, 2014 @12:23PM Spain's Link Tax Taxes Journalist's Patience
Thursday July 31, 2014 @01:19PM UK Government Report Recommends Ending Online Anonymity
Thursday July 31, 2014 @12:21PM Fotopedia Is Shutting Down; Data Avallable Until August 10
Wednesday July 30, 2014 @07:46PM Countries Don't Own Their Internet Domains, ICANN Says
Monday July 28, 2014 @03:29PM The Misleading Fliers Comcast Used To Kill Off a Local Internet Competitor
Monday July 28, 2014 @10:53AM Internet Census 2012 Data Examined: Authentic, But Chaotic and Unethical
Sunday July 27, 2014 @08:29AM In France, Most Comments on Gaza Conflict Yanked From Mainstream News Sites
Saturday July 26, 2014 @07:51AM Committee Formed To Scrutinize Australia's Web Censorship Law
Friday July 25, 2014 @11:28PM Australian Government Moving Forward With Anti-Piracy Mandate For ISPs
Friday July 25, 2014 @08:34PM Cable Companies: We're Afraid Netflix Will Demand Payment From ISPs
Thursday July 24, 2014 @09:35PM Two Cities Ask the FCC To Preempt State Laws Banning Municipal Fiber Internet
Thursday July 24, 2014 @02:13PM Comcast Carrying 1Tbit/s of IPv6 Internet Traffic
Thursday July 24, 2014 @07:16AM FCC Reminds ISPs That They Can Be Fined For Lacking Transparency
Wednesday July 23, 2014 @09:21PM How the Internet of Things Could Aid Disaster Response
Monday July 21, 2014 @10:45AM Verizon Boosts FiOS Uploads To Match Downloads
Monday July 21, 2014 @08:00AM China Has More People Going Online With a Mobile Device Than a PC
Sunday July 20, 2014 @03:06PM Russian Government Edits Wikipedia On Flight MH17
Sunday July 20, 2014 @12:19PM High School Students Not Waiting For Schools To Go Online
Sunday July 20, 2014 @08:24AM Domain Registry of America Suspended By ICANN
Monday July 14, 2014 @02:56PM Hacking Online Polls and Other Ways British Spies Seek To Control the Internet
Monday July 14, 2014 @02:35PM FCC Public Comment Period For Net Neutrality Ends Tomorrow, July 15
Sunday July 13, 2014 @07:52AM Utility Wants $17,500 Refund After Failure To Scrub Negative Search Results
Friday July 11, 2014 @07:09PM O3b Launches Four More Satellites To Bring Internet To 'Other 3 Billion'
Thursday July 10, 2014 @05:10PM Senator Al Franken Accuses AT&T of "Skirting" Net Neutrality Rules
Thursday July 10, 2014 @12:41PM Microsoft Settles With No-IP After Malware Takedown
Thursday July 10, 2014 @07:28AM India's National Informatics Centre Forged Google SSL Certificates
Wednesday July 09, 2014 @10:12PM Judge Shoots Down "Bitcoin Isn't Money" Argument In Silk Road Trial
Wednesday July 09, 2014 @06:06PM Homestar Runner To Return Soon
Wednesday July 09, 2014 @02:45PM Will Google's Dart Language Replace Javascript? (Video)
Tuesday July 08, 2014 @02:22PM All Web Developers Should Have Access to a Device Lab (Video)
Tuesday July 08, 2014 @09:50AM New Zealand ISP's Anti-Geoblocking Service Makes Waves
Monday July 07, 2014 @05:38PM YouTube Issuing "Report Cards" On Carriers' Streaming Speeds
Sunday July 06, 2014 @09:44PM How the NEPTUNE Project Wired the Ocean
Friday July 04, 2014 @10:02PM New Russian Law To Forbid Storing Russians' Data Outside the Country
Thursday July 03, 2014 @11:09AM Ask Slashdot: Hosting Services That Don't Overreact To DMCA Requests?
Monday June 30, 2014 @07:25PM Microsoft Takes Down No-IP.com Domains
Monday June 30, 2014 @03:07PM Reading Rainbow Kickstarter Heads Into Home Stretch
Sunday June 29, 2014 @08:26PM Eric Schmidt and Entourage Pay a Call On Cuba
Sunday June 29, 2014 @11:53AM Netflix Could Be Classified As a 'Cybersecurity Threat' Under New CISPA Rules
Friday June 27, 2014 @05:02PM Norway Scraps Online Voting
Tuesday June 24, 2014 @07:28AM Google Building a Domain Registration Service
Monday June 23, 2014 @11:04AM Interviews: Ask Lawrence Lessig About His Mayday PAC
Monday June 23, 2014 @08:21AM Robert McMillen: What Everyone Gets Wrong In the Debate Over Net Neutrality
Sunday June 22, 2014 @08:10AM EFF To Unveil Open Wireless Router For Open Wireless Movement
Thursday June 19, 2014 @10:06PM Mozilla Working On a New Website Comment System
Wednesday June 18, 2014 @09:07PM Former FCC Head: "We Should Be Ashamed of Ourselves" For State of Broadband
Tuesday June 17, 2014 @10:39AM The FBI's Jargon List: Internet Acronyms Galore
Tuesday June 17, 2014 @07:30AM Canadian Court Orders Google To Remove Websites From Its Global Index
Monday June 16, 2014 @04:37PM Congressman Asks NSA To Provide Metadata For "Lost" IRS Emails
Monday June 16, 2014 @08:51AM EU, South Korea Collaborate On Superfast 5G Standards
Monday June 16, 2014 @08:31AM Google Fiber Is Officially Making Its Way To Portland
Sunday June 15, 2014 @04:50PM Can Google Connect the Unconnected 2/3 To the Internet?
Saturday June 14, 2014 @10:24AM Microsoft Runs Out of US Address Space For Azure, Taps Its Global IPv4 Stock
Saturday June 14, 2014 @08:41AM Nominet Compromising UK WHOIS Privacy, Wants To See Gov't-Issued ID
Friday June 13, 2014 @09:59PM FCC Looking Into Paid Peering Deals
Thursday June 12, 2014 @01:11PM Portland Edges Closer To Google Fiber
Wednesday June 11, 2014 @10:38PM Cable Companies Duped Community Groups Into Fighting Net Neutrality
Wednesday June 11, 2014 @10:42AM Latin America Exhausts IPv4 Addresses
Tuesday June 10, 2014 @03:40PM CyanogenMod Domain Hijacked
Tuesday June 10, 2014 @07:43AM Britain Gets National .uk Web Address
Monday June 09, 2014 @09:37AM Netflix Trash-Talks Verizon's Network; Verizon Threatens To Sue
Thursday June 05, 2014 @04:01PM Web Browsing Isn't Copyright Infringement, Rules EU Court of Justice
Monday June 02, 2014 @09:36AM Google To Spend $1 Billion On Fleet of Satellites
Sunday June 01, 2014 @08:43AM Ask Slashdot: Taking a New Tack On Net Neutrality?
Sunday June 01, 2014 @03:06AM OpenDNS Phases Out Redirection To Guide
Saturday May 31, 2014 @11:09PM NSA Collecting Millions of Faces From Web Images
Saturday May 31, 2014 @07:08PM Comcast CEO Brian Roberts Opens Mouth, Inserts Foot
Saturday May 31, 2014 @09:02AM Thousands of Europeans Petition For Their 'Right To Be Forgotten'
Friday May 30, 2014 @09:20PM Popular Shuttered Torrent Site Demonoid Returns
Friday May 30, 2014 @09:17PM Congressman Introduces Bill To Limit FCC Powers
Friday May 30, 2014 @06:26AM YouTube Releases the Google Video Quality Report
Wednesday May 28, 2014 @10:23PM Report: Verizon Claimed Public Utility Status To Get Government Perks
Wednesday May 28, 2014 @05:31PM Comcast-Time Warner Deal May Hinge On Low-Cost Internet Plan
Monday May 26, 2014 @06:16PM PHK: HTTP 2.0 Should Be Scrapped
Monday May 26, 2014 @07:13AM The Internet Is Now Part of the Crime Scene
Saturday May 24, 2014 @08:49PM FCC Gets Go-Ahead For Plan To Expand Rural Internet Access
Saturday May 24, 2014 @03:34PM Cox Promises National Gigabit Rollout; Starting With Phoenix, Las Vegas, Omaha
Thursday May 22, 2014 @09:38PM Yelp Reviews Help NYC Health Department Find and Close Dirty Restaurants
Monday May 19, 2014 @02:24PM Rackspace, Cumulus Networks and CoreOS Join Linux Foundation
Monday May 19, 2014 @02:12PM California Bill Would Safeguard Consumers' Rights To Criticize Firms Online
Monday May 19, 2014 @07:17AM UK May Kill the EU's Net Neutrality Law
Thursday May 15, 2014 @11:30AM FCC Votes To Consider Next Round of 'Net Neutrality' Rules

Living on Earth may be expensive, but it includes an annual free trip around the Sun.

 



Forgot your password?
Working...