Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Input Devices Upgrades Hardware

Review of the Model M-Inspired Unicomp Customizer Keyboard 383

Posted by timothy
from the lust-lust-lust dept.
ThousandStars writes "I wrote a review of the Unicomp Customizer Keyboard, which is a modern version of the IBM and then Lexmark Model M much beloved by nerds and hackers. The pros of the Customizer: it's sturdy, remarkably similar to the Model M, has great tech support, and uses a USB interface. Oh, and it's Mac-friendly. The cons: at $69 it's somewhat expensive, and its noise won't be music to your cubemate's ears." Note: this is one of the very, very few buckling-spring keyboards you can get new these days, instead of prowling through thrift stores, eBay, and university dumpsters.
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Review of the Model M-Inspired Unicomp Customizer Keyboard

Comments Filter:
  • by i.r.id10t (595143) on Thursday May 29, 2008 @10:14AM (#23585833)
    But are they still heavy and sturdy enough to "console" someone... repeatedly? Sometimes I channel the BOFH, and these cheap plastic Dell deals just don't hold up to the abuse...
  • by Brian Gordon (987471) on Thursday May 29, 2008 @10:21AM (#23585929)
    No wires or ball? You got ripped off buddy.
  • by snowraver1 (1052510) on Thursday May 29, 2008 @10:49AM (#23586305)
    The clicking is the best part. When you are typing up a storm, the whole office better know it. When something is broken and everyone it waiting for you to fix it, and everyone hears "CLACKITY! CLICK! CLICK! CLACK! CLACK! THUNK(spacebar)! CLACK!" the only thought in thier head is "Man he must be doing something complicated".
  • by the eric conspiracy (20178) * on Thursday May 29, 2008 @11:19AM (#23586753)
    I was introduced to the Model M keyboard one fine afternoon when leaving from work a dumpster outside a large insurance company building was FILLED with hundreds of Model M keyboards; evidently they were doing a hardware upgrade. Seeing the keyboards I grabbed one from the dumpster (I have no pride) to try out.

    Overjoyed that I finally found a clicky keyboard like those I remembered from the early IBM days I returned the next day and picked up half a dozen more.

    If I had only known I would have taken more.

    I can't use them at work though - my cube farm neighbors complained when I brought one in.

    But I do love the bucking spring design.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday May 29, 2008 @11:36AM (#23587001)
    As I sit here typing this I get to enjoy listening to a coworker's obnoxiously loud typing as her fingernails clack against the keys.

    I'm totally getting this keyboard!
  • by Just Some Guy (3352) <kirk+slashdot@strauser.com> on Thursday May 29, 2008 @12:27PM (#23587783) Homepage Journal

    And everyone they're on the phone with -- "Is it hailing there?"

    *spews coffee over Model M keyboard*

    These things are dishwashable, right? Right?

  • by Odinson (4523) on Thursday May 29, 2008 @12:51PM (#23588181) Homepage Journal


    I have owned one of these customizers for a couple of years so far and I can say yes. Even a woman of moderate build could fell two or three professional wrestlers with this thing. If they can lift it.

    They should have know better than to mess with you when they heard your keystrokes sounding off like machine gun fire in the night. They are very spill resistant too, so you don't have to worry about how bloody they get. You can type a strongly worded letter mere seconds after an attack.

    Now if they would just offer one with lit keys so you can see who you are pummeling in the pitch black without the aid of night vision goggles at an additional cost!

  • by sirambrose (919153) on Thursday May 29, 2008 @02:38PM (#23589959)
    Be careful with your keyboard -- the model M isn't quite indestructible. I worked in a day trading office with a customer who liked to smash his keyboards when a trade went sour. One hit would shatter the whole keyboard. After replacing several keyboards one month, I bought him a model M keyboard. The next day he lost a few thousand dollars and went nuts. He smashed the keyboard against the desk several times, but that only knocked a few key caps off. He finally managed to break it by leaning it against the wall and jumping on it, but it took several tries and about ten minutes.

Our business in life is not to succeed but to continue to fail in high spirits. -- Robert Louis Stevenson

Working...