Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Handhelds Wireless Networking Hardware

Microsoft Orange SPV Phone Review 237

Posted by timothy
from the sticky-fingers dept.
Ian Bell writes "HowardChui.com just posted a review on Microsoft's new Orange SPV which is the first commercially available Smartphone. The SPV stands for Sound, Pictures, Video and you can download games like Doom or listen to MP3s on the speaker or even chat to your friends using the built-in MSN Messenger. But for all that the SPV features, there is no Bluetooth support. It still looks like a killer phone and I like that it is smaller than the PocketPC phones currently on the market."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Microsoft Orange SPV Phone Review

Comments Filter:
  • he's clueless... (Score:4, Informative)

    by stewart.hector (87816) on Tuesday June 03, 2003 @11:36PM (#6111928) Homepage
    He is obviously clueless...

    "While it seems to lack a little bit of polish as the first commercially available Smartphone, the SPV is not a bad device. "

    Erm, It isn't the first commercial smartphone. Symbian phones have been around for a while, years in fact - for example, Erccisson R380 (I think there was a version before this one?), and Nokia - the Brick - Communicator 9210 - and there was a version before this too.

    With Symbian you get a rock solid phone and software, far more than MS can possibly provide. Symbian phones have far better security and their OS isn't bloated, as opposite to MS its in pathetic (toy) OSes.
  • by Faeton (522316) on Tuesday June 03, 2003 @11:57PM (#6112034) Homepage Journal
    Howard's obviously not clueless to this, as he's reviewed both those phones already a while back. Check out his site.

    Smartphone (with a capital S) is Microsoft's brandname for... smartphones (duh!). They've copyrighted the name, so that's what Howard means when he writes "first commercially available Smartphone".

    I've played with the phone myself, and the OS isn't bloated compared to the Symbian phones (they're about the same). In fact, my Nokia 3650, which uses Symbian, crashes every now and then. I'm not saying the MS one doesn't crash, but don't think because it's made by someone other than Microsoft that it's automagically better.

  • Re:ridiculous phones (Score:3, Informative)

    by almaw (444279) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @12:26AM (#6112172) Homepage
    You don't need a Microsoft-powered 'phone to do that. I've been synching my contacts and calendar from Outlook to my phone(s) for years.

    FusionOne [fusionone.com] used to offer a free service to give you synch across many devices (including many mobile 'phone types).

    If you want free stuff and have a Nokia, you can get software from their web site which lets you do this. Other manufacturers also have synch software these days too.

    All you need is an IR-port (USB ones are sub-$20) or a data cable for your phone (which will probably be more than that).
  • by 73939133 (676561) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @01:00AM (#6112316)
    as the first commercially available Smartphone

    Smartphones have been around for several years, based on Symbian and PalmOS. And the term has been around for a number of years as well. Microsoft should really not be able to take out trademarks on generic terms like "Windows" and "Smartphone".

  • by AdamInParadise (257888) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @02:12AM (#6112585) Homepage
    Bollocks!

    First Orange is a network operator, not a cell phone manufacturer. Second, the phone is made by HTC and resold in a few countries by different operators. Orange had no say in the design. Now it seems that they neuteured the phone by preventing the user from installing unsigned software while not working with developers to provide them with a easy way to sign their apps.
  • by CountBrass (590228) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @03:20AM (#6112822)

    Been using it for the last few months and it is AWFUL !

    Sure it sounds great, colour screen, plays mp3s, core PDA functionality, web browsing and email using GPRS (I signed up for 7 megs a month because I thought this would be useful).

    But it is terrible !

    So what's the problem ? Well it hangs. All the time. I get busy cursors when all I'm doing is navigating the menus. It hangs when I'm trying to make a call (it seems to get its knickers in a twist if an incoming call arrives whilst your starting an outgoing call.

    Personally I'm really pissed off at having skipped the Ericsson (which I thought was too big) for this pile of shit. Been very happy with every Orange 'phone I've ever owned (been an Orange customer since they opened up here in the UK) but the SPV stinks. Edward

  • Re:I'm surprised... (Score:2, Informative)

    by earthloop (449575) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @04:05AM (#6112950) Homepage
    ...no one's gone ahead and tried to run Linux on it yet...where's my modchip?

    Actually, somebody has. No mod chip required either.

    See: http://xmob.co.uk/ll.php/9
  • Re:Ad campaign? (Score:3, Informative)

    by beefness (112934) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @09:37AM (#6114293)
    Actually, I have had an orange SPV since it Launched in November and the phone works very well, it does lag occasioanlly, which can be very irritating, it also has a few quirks in terms of the navigation system (it just isn't very logical - sorry microsoft).

    However, it's audio quality is fantastic for such a small device, it was in fact the main reason I bought it, as for WAP? Why does anyone even comment on that any more, WAP is useless anyway. The SPV has regular internet access via GPRS, and that works perfectly (it shrinks the images and everything), much better than WAP.

    Before Microsoft issued the first software update for the SPV it was pretty clumsy, it's batteries just got sucked into a big black whole somwhere near the screen and it was missing some key functionality, for a start an app for taking and viewing a picture album with the supplied camera attachment - before the update you had to create an MMS message in order to access the camera functionality.

    I am very happy with the SPV and what it does, there is not another phone like it available on the market today and I like it because I can replace 2 devices that I always used to carry with me (my phone and my CD player) with 1 device that does what the other two did and a hell of alot more, as an early adopter of this product I am happy to live with the 2 second delay when I launch Windows Media Player if it means my pockets look less bulky.

    The SPVx is out in a month or two, which is going to be upgraded for better gaming features and hopefully will have a faster CPU, but I'll be happy with my SPV.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @09:48AM (#6114400)
    Yes, the keypad on the SPV is terrible. This was fixed, however, on the 2nd iteration of the device -- the Tanager (or SPVx or QTek 7070 depending on who's selling it.) One of many pictures of the new device: http://www.infosyncworld.com/news/n/3639.html [infosyncworld.com]
  • by stickyc (38756) on Wednesday June 04, 2003 @12:28PM (#6115973) Homepage
    I urge for the day i can walk into a room with a bluetooth keychain and have my pre-programmed computer automatically turn the lights on and start playing music ala Minority report. We *HAVE* the technology to do all this, why the hell are hardware manufacturers kicking their damn heals so much?

    I'd disagree, the solution's already there with very popular off-the-shelf hardware. All you need is:

    And your dream has come true...

"Consequences, Schmonsequences, as long as I'm rich." -- "Ali Baba Bunny" [1957, Chuck Jones]

Working...